Early in 1908, Vuillard and his mother moved into an apartment in the corner building of the 26 rue de Calais, in the
modest Batignolles district. They remained there twenty years, living on the fourth and then on the second floor. Both apartments
overlooked the Place Vintimille (today's Place Adolphe Max) and theoval-shaped Square Berlioz, named in 1905 in commemoration of the
composer Hector Berlioz, who used to live nearby at the 4 Rue de Calais. The monument to his name, erected in 1886, can be seen in
several of Vuillard’s paintings.
Vuillard was captivated by this forgotten corner of "Le Vieux Paris", relatively safe from the hustle and bustle of the nearby
boulevard de Clichy in the heart of Montmartre. Observing the lively streets and their architecture, he was particularly found of depicting
the strollers, nannies and children enjoying the little park. Vuillard realized numerous pastels and drawings of the place as well as three
decorative panels in 1910 and a five panels screen in 1911. Invariably, the park is seen and represented from above.
Sketching the perspective in a few lines, Vuillard plays with the oval-shape of his subject, cutting his composition in half by
putting the little barrier on the middle of the canvas and using lively green, yellow and red to enlighten the display of posters and
newspapers on the right. With the exception of the statue’s pedestal which has been lowered, the little park and the surrounding houses
remain unchanged today.